Skip to content


EdCom is organized by the sub-committees led by the following steering committee members, along with a dedicated team of volunteers.


Sheri Levinsky-Raskin
The Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum
New York, NY

Immediate Past Chair

Tony Pennay
Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation
Simi Valley, CA


Dina Bailey
International Coalition of Sites of Conscience, New York, NY


Prepares and distributes regular correspondence to members and promotes opportunities to engage in EdCom activities and social media conversations.

Heather Schneider, Chair
Shedd Aquarium
Chicago, IL

Meg Poole, Chair-Elect
Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum
Colorado Springs, CO

Annual Conference

Reviews and recommends content for the annual conference and organizes networking events.

Mark Osterman, Chair
Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
Miami, FL

Director of Education & Programs Stephanie Arduini

Stephanie Arduini, Chair-Elect
The American Civil War Museum
Richmond, VA

Leadership Development

Manages Museum Education Mentor (EdMEM) program; orients Steering Committee leaders.

Sarah Jencks, Chair
Ford’s Theatre
Washington, DC

Chair-Elect: TBD in 2019


Coordinates and recruits solicitations and judges for the EdCom awards. 

Veronica Alvarez, Chair
Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Los Angeles, CA

Chair-Elect: TBD in 2019


Assigns and manages network volunteers and serves as a liaison to the regional representatives.

Russanne Erickson of Hastings Museum-Leadership Hastings mug. Laura Beahm 01-28-14
Photo by Laura Beahm

Russanne Hoff, Chair
Hastings Museum
Hastings, NE

Laura Huntimer, Chair-Elect
Joslyn Art Museum
Omaha, NE

Museum Education Trends

Addresses trends and areas of special concern to the field of museum education through identifying new resources and organizing professional development programs, including the Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo’s Solutions Center.

Kyle Parsons, Chair
Minnesota Historical Society
Minneapolis, MN

Chair-Elect: TBD in 2019

Professional Development

Conceptualizes and implements professional development programs, including EdComversations.

Rebekah Harding, Chair
Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation
Simi Valley, CA

Chair-Elect: TBD in 2019

National Associates

These advocates are appointed by the Chair to help keep EdCom’s thinking relevant, ambitious and broad, acknowledging the educational work within museums outside of formal education departments.

Monica Montgomery
Museum Hue

Chris Taylor
Minnesota Historical Society

Museum Education Roundtable Representative

Mariruth Leftwich
Heinz History Center
Pittsburgh, PA

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum Magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership