Class of 2017 Board Slate

Read more about our 2017 candidates.

Standards and Best Practices

Benchmarks, guidelines and avenues for recognition.

Join the Alliance

Membership is the foundation for excellence and unites the field.

Board of Directors Nominations

Meet the Board Candidates for the Class of 2017

A critical element to the success of the American Alliance of Museums in serving the field is ensuring the Board of Directors is composed of committed individuals that have the relevant skills and a wide range of perspectives to effectively lead the organization.

With your input (thank you!) AAM’s Board of Directors has nominated seven distinguished professionals from the museum field and beyond as candidates to serve on the Board with terms that begin in May 2017.

Read more about our 2017 slate of candidates.


The Committee actively recruits individuals who:
  • bring experience and expertise to help advance the Alliance’s Strategic Plan
  • ensure that AAM is governed by a diverse Board of Directors
  • demonstrate service to AAM, museums or an allied field
  • have an active individual Alliance membership

Board Member Role and Responsibilities

  • Board Member At-Large Position Description
  • Class of 2017 Members are elected for a three-year term starting May 10, 2017

Process and Schedule

September 9, 2016





March 8, 2017

April-May 2017

Class of 2017 nomination period closes.

Nominating Committee evaluates candidates and presents Board slate to Alliance Board Chair.

Chair approves slate and full Board ratifies.

All candidates notified.

Slate announced to Alliance membership.

Deadline to submit nomination by petition.

Election results announced to membership.

Article VII of the AAM Constitution and Bylaws details the nominations, voting and election process.

Board Nominating Committee

William T. Harris, Chair and At-Large Board Member Class of 2015-2018
President and CEO, Space Center Houston, TX

Joel Hoffman, At-Large Board Member Class of 2014-2017
Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, Miami, FL

Tonya Matthews, At-Large Board Member Class of 2016-2019
President and CEO, Michigan Science Center, Detroit

Kaywin Feldman, Immediate Past Chair (2016-2018)
Director and President, Minneapolis Institute of Art, MN

Janie Cohen, President, New England Museum Association,
representative, Council of Regions
Executive Director, Fleming Museum of Art, University of Vermont

Charles L. Katzenmeyer, Chair, Development and Membership Network,
representative, Professional Network Council
Vice President, Institutional Advancement, The Field Museum, Chicago, IL

Christine Reich, Individual Alliance Member, At-Large
Director of Exhibit Development and Conservation, Museum of Science, Boston, MA

Staff Liaison: Eileen Goldspiel, Director Institutional Giving