Skip to content

Monday (3/9) Deadline for Key Museum Funding Letter; Contact Legislators Today

Category: Advocacy Alert
Image of the U.S. Capitol 2019

Advocacy Alert – March 4, 2020

Monday (3/9) Deadline for Key Museum Funding Letter; Contact Legislators Today

After being targeted for elimination by the President’s budget, the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Office of Museum Services (OMS) needs a strong show of support in Congress now more than ever before. You can help today by asking your Representative to sign on to the letter currently being circulated by U.S. Representatives Paul Tonko (D-NY), Andy Barr (R-KY), Chellie Pingree (D-ME) and David McKinley (R-WV) requesting robust funding in FY 2021 for OMS. As of today, 119 Representatives have signed on so far, but we still have work to do to meet or exceed last year’s effort.

Will you take two minutes to ask your Representative to sign today?

The deadline for Representatives to join this letter is end-of-day Monday, March 9 (having been extended from March 4). See further details in our February 28 Alliance Advocacy Alert, and see the updated list of current signers below to determine whether your Representative has signed on. If so, be sure to thank them.

Thank you for your advocacy for museums!

Current FY 2021 House Office of Museum Services Signers:

  • Don Young (R-AK)
  • Terri Sewell (D-AL)
  • Ruben Gallego (D-AZ)
  • Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ)
  • Julia Brownley (D-CA)
  • Salud Carbajal (D-CA)
  • Judy Chu (D-CA)
  • Susan Davis (D-CA)
  • Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA)
  • Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA)
  • Jimmy Gomez (D-CA)
  • Ro Khanna (D-CA)
  • Barbara Lee (D-CA)
  • Alan Lowenthal (D-CA)
  • Jerry McNerney (D-CA)
  • Jimmy Panetta (D-CA)
  • Scott Peters (D-CA)
  • Harley Rouda (D-CA)
  • Linda T. Sanchez (D-CA)
  • Adam B. Schiff (D-CA)
  • Jackie Speier (D-CA)
  • Mike Thompson (D-CA)
  • Joe Courtney (D-CT)
  • Jahana Hayes (D-CT)
  • John B. Larson (D-CT)
  • Diana DeGette (D-CO)
  • Doug Lamborn (R-CO)
  • Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
  • Eleanor H. Norton (D-DC)
  • Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE)
  • Kathy Castor (D-FL)
  • Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL)
  • Al Lawson (D-FL)
  • Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)
  • Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (D-GA)
  • John Lewis (D-GA)
  • Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)
  • Cindy Axne (D-IA)
  • Dave Loebsack (D-IA)
  • Sean Casten (D-IL)
  • Danny K. Davis (D-IL)
  • Rodney Davis (R-IL)
  • Robin L. Kelly (D-IL)
  • Darin LaHood (R-IL)
  • Daniel W. Lipinski (D-IL)
  • Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
  • Andre Carson (D-IN)
  • Sharice L. Davids (D-KS)
  • Andy Barr (R-KY)*
  • John Yarmuth (D-KY)
  • Joe Kennedy (D-MA)
  • Stephen Lynch (D-MA)
  • Seth Moulton (D-MA)
  • Richard E. Neal (D-MA)
  • Lori Trahan (D-MA)
  • Jamie Raskin (D-MD)
  • John P. Sarbanes (D-MD)
  • David Trone (D-MD)
  • Jared Golden (D-ME)
  • Chellie Pingree (D-ME)*
  • Daniel T. Kildee (D-MI)
  • Andy Levin (D-MI)
  • Haley Stevens (D-MI)
  • Deb Haaland (D-MN)
  • Ilhan Omar (D-MN)
  • Emanuel Cleaver, II (D-MO)
  • Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-MP)
  • G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)
  • Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH)
  • Andy Kim (D-NJ)
  • Bill Pascrell, Jr (D-NJ)
  • Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ)
  • Jefferson Van Drew (R-NJ)
  • Dina Titus (D-NV)
  • Anthony Brindisi (D-NY)
  • Antonio Delgado (D-NY)
  • Adriano Espaillat (D-NY)
  • Brian Higgins (D-NY)
  • Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)
  • Peter King (R-NY)
  • Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY)
  • Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY)
  • Joseph D. Morelle (D-NY)
  • Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
  • Kathleen M. Rice (D-NY)
  • Thomas R. Suozzi (D-NY)
  • Nydia Velázquez (D-NY)
  • Paul D. Tonko (D-NY)*
  • Joyce Beatty (D-OH)
  • Susan Bonamici (D-OR)
  • Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
  • Brendan F. Boyle (D-PA)
  • Madeline Dean (D-PA)
  • Dwight Evans (D-PA)
  • Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
  • Mary Gay Scanlon (D-PA)
  • Jennifer Gonzalez-Colon (R-PR)
  • David N. Cicilline (D-RI)
  • James R. Langevin (D-RI)
  • Dusty Johnson (R-SD)
  • Steve Cohen (D-TN)
  • Jim Cooper (D-TN)
  • Colin Allred (D-TX)
  • Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX)
  • Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
  • Marc Veasey (D-TX)
  • Ben McAdams (D-UT)
  • Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA)
  • Donald McEachin (D-VA)
  • Jennifer Wexton (D-VA)
  • Stacey E. Plaskett (D-VI)
  • Peter Welch (D-VT)
  • Susan DelBene (D-WA)
  • Pramila Jayapal (D-WA)
  • Kim Schrier (D-WA)
  • Adam Smith (D-WA)
  • Ron Kind (D-WI)
  • Gwen Moore (D-WI)
  • David McKinley (R-WV)*

*Indicates lead letter sponsors

Already contacted your Representative and followed up? Don’t forget to ask your Senators, whose letter deadline is March 13.

Visit to learn more about advocating for museums.

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Field Notes!

Packed with stories and insights for museum people, Field Notes is delivered to your inbox every Monday. Once you've completed the form below, confirm your subscription in the email sent to you.

If you are a current AAM member, please sign-up using the email address associated with your account.

Are you a museum professional?

Are you a current AAM member?

Success! Now check your email to confirm your subscription, and please add to your safe sender list.