Skip to content

Last Chance! Deadline is Friday 4/22 – Ask Your Representative to Sign On Today

Category: Advocacy Alert
Image of the U.S. Capitol 2019

Advocacy Alert – April 21, 2022

Last Chance! Deadline is Tomorrow – Ask Your Representative to Sign On Today

Representatives Paul Tonko (D-NY), David McKinley (R-WV), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), and Andy Barr (R-KY) will soon conclude circulating a letter in the House of Representatives calling for robust FY 2023 funding for the Office of Museum Services (OMS) at the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). This is our last chance in the House to secure additional signatures. (A similar Senate letter will be circulating soon.) The deadline for Representatives to join this letter is Friday, April 22. See the list of current signers below to determine whether your Representative has signed on. If so, be sure to thank them.

If not, take a couple of minutes to use our template and ask your Representative to sign on today. These letters are a key measure of legislators’ support for federal funding for museums. While AAM continues to communicate with Congressional offices, it’s critical that your legislators hear directly from constituents like you about this important opportunity to support museums. If you contacted your legislators already but have yet to hear back, please send another message. Securing these signatures sometimes takes several touches, and reaching out again can help make sure your voice is heard.

Please contact your Representative today!

Current FY 2023 House Office of Museum Services Signers (alphabetical by state):

Letter sponsors indicated in bold. Use our Legislator Directory to identify your legislators.

  • Ruben Gallego (D-AZ-7)
  • Karen Bass (D-CA-37)
  • Julia Brownley (D-CA-26)
  • Salud Carbajal (D-CA-24)
  • Judy Chu (D-CA-27)
  • Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA-11)
  • Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA-18)
  • John Garamendi (D-CA-3)
  • Jimmy Gomez (D-CA-34)
  • Doris Matsui (D-CA-6)
  • Jerry McNerney (D-CA-9)
  • Jimmy Panetta (D-CA-20)
  • Scott H. Peters (D-CA-52)
  • Linda T. Sánchez (D-CA-38)
  • Adam B. Schiff (D-CA-28)
  • Eric Swalwell (D-CA-15)
  • Mark Takano (D-CA-41)
  • Diana DeGette (D-CO-1)
  • Joseph Courtney (D-CT-2)
  • Jahana Hayes (D-CT-5)
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-1)
  • Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE-1)
  • Darren Soto (D-FL-9)
  • Sanford D. Bishop (D-GA-2)
  • Henry C. Johnson (D-GA-4)
  • Lucy McBath (D-GA-6)
  • Nikema Williams (D-GA-5)
  • Kaiali’i Kahele (D-HI-2)
  • Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17)
  • Sean Casten (D-IL-6)
  • Danny K. Davis (D-IL-7)
  • Rodney Davis (R-IL-13)
  • Bill Foster (D-IL-11)
  • Robin L. Kelly (D-IL-2)
  • Darin LaHood (R-IL-18)
  • Bobby L. Rush (D-IL-1)
  • Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL-9)
  • Sharice Davids (D-KS-3)
  • Andy Barr (R-KY-6)
  • Jake Auchincloss (D-MA-4)
  • Stephen F. Lynch (D-MA-8)
  • Seth Moulton (D-MA-6)
  • Richard E. Neal (D-MA-1)
  • Lori Trahan (D-MA-3)
  • Anthony G. Brown (D-MD-4)
  • John P. Sarbanes (D-MD-3)
  • Jared Golden (D-ME-2)
  • Chellie Pingree (D-ME-1)
  • Debbie Dingell (D-MI-12)
  • Haley M. Stevens (D-MI-11)
  • Angela Craig (D-MN-2)
  • Dean Phillips (D-MN-3)
  • Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO-5)
  • Gregorio Kilili C. Sablan (I-MP-1)
  • Alma S. Adams (D-NC-12)
  • G.K. Butterfield (D-NC-1)
  • Kathy Manning (D-NC-6)
  • Deborah Ross (D-NC-2)
  • Ann Kuster (D-NH-2)
  • Christopher Pappas (D-NH-1)
  • Joshua Gottheimer (D-NJ-5)
  • Andy Kim (D-NJ-3)
  • Tom Malinowski (D-NJ-7)
  • Donald M. Payne (D-NJ-10)
  • Albio Sires (D-NJ-8)
  • Jefferson Van Drew (R-NJ-2)
  • Teresa Leger Fernandez (D-NM-3)
  • Dina Titus (D-NV-1)
  • Antonio Delgado (D-NY-19)
  • Brian Higgins (D-NY-26)
  • Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY-8)
  • John Katko (R-NY-24)
  • Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY-12)
  • Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY-5)
  • Joseph D. Morelle (D-NY-25)
  • Jerrold Nadler (D-NY-10)
  • Elise Stefanik (R-NY-21)
  • Paul Tonko (D-NY-20)
  • Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY-7)
  • Joyce Beatty (D-OH-3)
  • Shontel Brown (D-OH-11)
  • Anthony Gonzalez (R-OH-16)
  • Michael R. Turner (R-OH-10)
  • Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR-1)
  • Peter A. DeFazio (D-OR-4)
  • Brendan F. Boyle (D-PA-2)
  • Michael F. Doyle (D-PA-18)
  • Dwight Evans (D-PA-3)
  • Brian K. Fitzpatrick (R-PA-1)
  • Christina Houlahan (D-PA-6)
  • Glenn Thompson (R-PA-15)
  • Jenniffer González-Colón (R-PR-1)
  • David Cicilline (D-RI-1)
  • James Cooper (D-TN5)
  • Colin Allred (D-TX-32)
  • Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX-15)
  • Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX-18)
  • Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX-30)
  • Marc A. Veasey (D-TX-33)
  • Donald Beyer (D-VA-8)
  • Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA-11)
  • Stacey E. Plaskett (D-VI-1)
  • Suzan K. DelBene (D-WA-1)
  • Kim Schrier (D-WA-8)
  • Adam Smith (D-WA-9)
  • Ron Kind (D-WI-3)
  • Gwen Moore (D-WI-4)
  • David B. McKinley (R-WV-1)

Thank you for your continued advocacy for museums.

Visit to access all of AAM’s advocacy resources.

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Field Notes!

Packed with stories and insights for museum people, Field Notes is delivered to your inbox every Monday. Once you've completed the form below, confirm your subscription in the email sent to you.

If you are a current AAM member, please sign-up using the email address associated with your account.

Are you a museum professional?

Are you a current AAM member?

Success! Now check your email to confirm your subscription, and please add to your safe sender list.