Skip to content

Awards and Competitions

In This Section

EdCom Award for Excellence in Practice

2022 AAM Awards Update: To maximize reach, engagement, impact, and learning for the museum field—as well as the celebration of our inspiring award winners—AAM awards programs are currently under review and temporarily on hold. This will likely result in a shift of award submission deadlines, previously set to align around the AAM Annual Meeting & Museum Expo. We look forward to sharing more information later in 2022 through our website and member communications.

Please note for 2021 EdCom will be only offering the EdCom Award for Innovation and Education–Pandemic Edition.

This award recognizes an individual who demonstrates exemplary service to the public through the practice of education in a museum. The person’s contributions may be through teaching, program development, community organizing, writing, research and/or professional activities. Awardees meet, establish, and promote the highest professional standards and are recognized as leaders in their field. Eligible nominees will be knowledgeable, demonstrate creativity, and succeed in stretching the boundaries defining the parameters of good practice.

Nominations are now closed.

There is a $25 fee for each entry. This fee goes towards the production of the awards and towards paying for one ticket for the Excellence in Practice Award winner to the EdCom Luncheon where the awards are given out at the AAM Annual Meeting. Your nomination will not be considered complete until the fee has been paid. To pay the fee, visit This link will reappear after you submit the nomination form below.

All EdCom Award Recipients receive the following recognition:

  • Honored at the AAM Annual Meeting
  • Awardees receive recognition in EdCom’s e-newsletter
  • Awardees featured on AAM’s Alliance Blog
  • Awardees may be featured in a future national webinar or article on best practices in museum education
  • Awardees may be featured in a “Best Practices in Museum Education” panel at the AAM Annual Meeting
  • All awardees receive an award, perfect for public display

Questions? (no award submissions please) Please contact Brooke Rosenblatt, EdCom Awards Lead (rosenblattb (a) si (dot) edu).



  • Michelle Tovar, Holocaust Museum Houston


  • David Rios, Children’s Museum of Manhattan, NY


  • Maria Marable Bunch, National Archives & Records Administration, Washington, DC


  • Jane Burrell, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, California


  • Suzy Harris, Birmingham Museum of Art, Alabama


  • Leah Melber, Lincoln Park Zoo, Chicago


  • Susan Nichols, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington, D.C


  • Paula Gangopadhyay, The Henry Ford, Dearborn, Michigan

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership

Subscribe to Field Notes!

Packed with stories and insights for museum people, Field Notes is delivered to your inbox every Monday. Once you've completed the form below, confirm your subscription in the email sent to you.

If you are a current AAM member, please sign-up using the email address associated with your account.

Are you a museum professional?

Are you a current AAM member?

Success! Now check your email to confirm your subscription, and please add to your safe sender list.