Past Recipients of the Award for Distinguished Service to Museums

2023 Cinnamon Catlin-Legutko
2020 Lyndel King
2019 Deborah Marrow
2018 Kathleen McLean
2017 Johnnetta Betsch Cole
2016 Irene Hirano Inouye
2015 Thomas Livesay
2014 Martin E. Sullivan
2013 William U. Eiland
2012 Charles F. Hummel
2011 Bonnie Pitman
2006 Centennial Celebration
2004 Elaine Heumann Gurian
2003 Robert Macdonald
2002 Alberta Sebolt George
1999 Peter Raven
1998 William Conway
1997 Thomas W. Leavitt
1996 John C. Ewers
1995 Stephen Weil
1994 Michael Spock
1993 J. Carter Brown and Joel N. Bloom
1992 Kenneth Starr
1991 Joseph Veach Noble
1990 Holman J. Swinney
1989 E. Leland Webber
1988 Mildred S. Compton
1987 Otto Wittman
1986 Louis C. Jones
1985 S. Dillon Ripley
1984 Grace McCann Morley
1983 Edward P. Alexander
1982 Frank Oppenheimer
1981 Edgar Preston Richardson
1980 Albert Eide Parr

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership

Subscribe to Field Notes!

Packed with stories and insights for museum people, Field Notes is delivered to your inbox every Monday. Once you've completed the form below, confirm your subscription in the email sent to you.

If you are a current AAM member, please sign-up using the email address associated with your account.

Are you a museum professional?

Are you a current AAM member?

Success! Now check your email to confirm your subscription, and please add to your safe sender list.