Chair’s Leadership Award

The AAM Chair’s Leadership Award is reserved for rare occasions to honor outstanding leadership and extraordinary accomplishments in the museum field. It was first presented in 2015. Recipients are not nominated but instead are chosen by the AAM Board Chair.

Past Recipients


Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico


National Museum of African American History and Culture


Graham Beal, Director, President and CEO, and the Detroit Institute of Arts Board of Directors

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership

Subscribe to Field Notes!

Packed with stories and insights for museum people, Field Notes is delivered to your inbox every Monday. Once you've completed the form below, confirm your subscription in the email sent to you.

If you are a current AAM member, please sign-up using the email address associated with your account.

Are you a museum professional?

Are you a current AAM member?

Success! Now check your email to confirm your subscription, and please add to your safe sender list.