Skip to content

Accreditation Commissioner Nominations

2020 Nominations Deadline: October 7, 2019


Only self-nominations are accepted.

    1. Read the criteria and other information below
    2. Read the commissioner position description (PDF)
    3. Complete the nomination form (.docx) and e-mail it to
    4. Update your Peer Reviewer profile data and upload your resume/CV (Get instructions.)
      If you are not already a Peer Reviewer, contact Julie Hart for access.

Note: If you have submitted a nomination before and would like to be again be considered in this round, you need to submit new paperwork this year, as the nomination form questions have changed. (If your peer reviewer profile data and your resume haven’t changed you do not need to resubmit those two items, only the new nomination form.)


The Accreditation Commission is the body responsible for making independent decisions regarding a museum’s accredited status. It meets three times a year and is made up of museum professionals who collectively represent a broad range of expertise and experience in the museum field.

Commissioners have significant leadership level experience, have an understanding of a wide range of museum operations, have experience with accreditation, and demonstrate a commitment to standards and building excellence across the field. Commissioners serve in a volunteer capacity for a five-year term.

The Nominating Committee is looking for individuals:

  • with significant senior leadership experience who are committed to advancing museums and the field through the Accreditation Program and Continuum of Excellence
  • who are creative, holistic, and critical thinkers
  • willing to be flexible as the Commission defines how it does its work
  • who are engaged in the museum field beyond their own institution
  • can represent the field broadly, not just a specific discipline
  • willing to consider other viewpoints and work toward consensus

In addition:

Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion (DEAI) in all aspects of museum structure and programming is a priority focus area for AAM. The Accreditation Program is no exception and the Commission is actively exploring how to better codify how it addresses DEAI in its decision-making and application of the standards. 

Therefore, the Nominating Committee is also looking for qualified individuals to serve on the Accreditation Commission who can and want to be part of advancing this conversation and who can contribute to the diversity of experiences, perspectives, and make-up of the Commission itself. We strongly encourage applications from members of underrepresented groups.

See the official position description (PDF) for a full list of qualifications, qualities and responsibilities.

Learn more about the current Accreditation Commissioners.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is made up of an AAM Board member; the Accreditation Commission chair and one other Commissioner; and a representative from two discipline-specific organizations (different each year).

Process and Schedule

  • September : Nomination period closes
  • September-October: Nominating Committee vets candidates
  • October-November:  Committee presents recommendations to Alliance Board Chair; Chair makes final selection and full Board ratifies; selected individual(s) notified
  • December: AAM makes public announcement about appointments
  • February: New Commissioner(s) attend their first meeting

AAM Member-Only Content

AAM Members get exclusive access to premium digital content including:

  • Featured articles from Museum Magazine
  • Access to more than 1,500 resource listings from the Resource Center
  • Tools, reports, and templates for equipping your work in museums
Log In

We're Sorry

Your current membership level does not allow you to access this content.

Upgrade Your Membership